welcome

-- Here you'll find commentary, news, reviews and thoughts. Currently I'm in Chicago until Nov 5th to cover the election and frollick in Obama's backyard. Enjoy updates as soon as they're in. Cheers. ap.

Nov 8, 2008

The Morning After

Credit: Zina Summers

Nov 6, 2008

Photogenic

Gotta hand it to him - the dude's photogenic

Nov 5, 2008

Yes We Did

That’s all you could hear on Michigan Avenue last night.

Shouted from trees, atop traffic medians, out windows and from cars parked in the middle of intersections, surrounded by a quarter of a million people all celebrating the impossible: he won!

But -- I’ll start back at the beginning.

We arrived downtown Chicago around 3 pm and already things were getting a little hectic. The rally took place in Grant Park, right on the lake and set against the striking Chicago skyline, which in my books gives NYC’s a run for its money.

Ryan, Mitch and I left the girls and went to scope things out. Already there was a line for both ticket and non-ticket holders alike. Ticket holders - only 65,000 were issued – were let into the area where Obama was speaking. If you were watching on CNN, that’s what you saw. What they did not show was the second gathering area where the rest of Chicago and the free world was gathered to watch on screens in an area right beside Grant park. THAT is where we were.

Walked around, took a few snaps and bought some Obama gear which deserves a special comment here. It was like the Stones were playing – street vendors had tables set up on every corner selling shirts, buttons, towels, hats, and – in one more ambitious find – umbrellas. When it hopes, it pours, I guess.


The majority of shirts featured Obama looking, in some manner, presidential. Whether he was positioned over the White House with the caption “Chicago’s in ‘da House” to the more straightforward “Senator Barack Obama, the 44th President of the United States”, there was a shirt for everyone. I settled for a standard Obama-Biden tee, but later found this little gem…


"remember, remember the 5th of november"

When the results first started pouring in and McCain had that very early, very small lead based on his win in Kentucky, the tension was ridiculously high. We were in a swanky hotel bar area and CNN was reporting McCain leading in a bunch of battlegrounds. Yes it was early, yes it was based on a very low percentage of votes counted, but it made for stressful reflection on that ever looming question “What if he doesn’t…”

Murmurs began among a few people we were talking to about the possible ugly side the crowd in Grant park might show. It wasn't something people seemed to want to consider.

After some dinner and drinks, the crew met up and we began our trek into the now packed and buzzing Grant Park. Over din, Obama had surged in the polls and the mood was considerably different from an hour before. At this point, Obama had already taken a commanding lead in Ohio and Florida, and he had made a race out of Virginia (which he would later win).

This made for an electric walk to the park along Michigan Avenue. Everyone was out, full force, with everything you would expect: home-made signs, noise makers, painted cars. Add beads, boobies, and crushing catholic guilt and it very well could have been Mardi Gras.



We entered the park through the Congress Avenue gates where we were sectioned off into our lowly non-ticket holder area. We dodged a few police horses who attempted to halt the crowd flow, and bolted for one of the big screens playing CNN. I’m not sure who Blitzer had to sleep with to make sure his network had exclusive broadcasting rights on the ground, but it was good enough to get like 6 jumbotron screens worth.

From that point on, you saw what I saw. The crowd thickened as 10 pm ET drew closer which is when these things are usually called. Every time a projection was made and Obama or McCain was ahead, the crowd would respond as expected – boos for McCain, earth-shattering cheers for Obama.

And then the announcement came --
I can tell you that it was a moment that I will NEVER forget. 10:00 pm came, Anderson Cooper threw to Wolf, and the words on the screen all of a sudden made it real. The crowd went... well, went crazy. I've never felt that amount of communal happiness before. It was some sort of catharsis that you could feel not just coming from citizens of Chicago who were happy their man won... but a real, true victory for a generation.

And I do not believe that that's an exaggeration on my part. It was official, it was real, and a hundreds of thousands of people who were inspired and hoped were given their gift of change. I saw family members hugging, old and young folks crying, partners (men and women, men and men, women and women) kissing, and people of all colours embracing. i could barely keep it in myself.

John McCain's appearance, at first, was met with boos which was disconcerting. people from the crowd yelled - quite rightly, and maybe a little sarcastically - "Don't kick a maverick when he's down". But upon hearing what he had to say, the crowd applauded lightly and appreciated his warm message of conciliation.

And then he came out - and even though I was watching on a jumbotron, not anywhere close to seeing the real deal, the atmosphere was electric and attentive. silence came over the crowd as he spoke - which was impressive and appreciated. his speech caused more tears (of joy) and giddy happiness. like I said, all of a sudden it was real - and the realization of that was more than most could take.

once the rally let out... well... pictures speak better than words...




more to come, including videos, but for now that's what I have to share.

it was, in a word, incredible.

president barack obama

pictures and stories are on their way soon - but for now just a simple word of happiness.

"change has come to america"

Nov 4, 2008

the latest snaps

Obama Rally :: Four Hours to Go

preparations


Aerial view of the set-up


Barack's stage being constructed


Security preps for the crowd


Under the big top

Snakes on a Change

election day marching orders

americans are officially headed to the polls.

itinerary for the day...

  • Breakfast (bacon, eggs, hope)
  • Take the L downtown and begin to shop for some Obama gear (we must stress that we are non-partisan observers....)
  • Tour downtown & try to see some voting lines / polls
  • Deep Dish Pizza (toppings: bacon, green peppers, mushrooms, change)
  • Head off the Grant Park and begin to line up / clusterf&@k# for the rally
  • Witness history
Watch for updates throughout the day (WITH pictures, this time)

ap.

anticipating today

i would say that there is a collective held-breath here in chicago, waiting for tonight's rally.

public notices are all over the place - there seems to be a city-wide effort to make this work as smoothly as possible. Here's some of the info we've heard so far about tonight's preparations...
  • Local officials are expected anywhere from 1 to 2 Million people to show up for Obama (in contrast to 2000 for McCain at a country club in Arizona).
  • The rally is going to take place at Grant Park, Chicago's water-side downtown park
  • 65,000 people have been given tickets to enter the gated-off area, while the rest are allowed to stand outside and observe all speeches on screens.
  • The Mayor has been quoted as saying "If people want to be there, they should" - as such, the police will NOT be turning anyone away from the park.
  • Gates will open at 8:30 pm - the city will essentially shut down at 3:00 pm in preparation for the congestion downtown.
  • Obama's speech (for better or worse) will take place after 10:00 pm - probably later
  • In terms of security - Chicago has cancelled all police requests for days off, and firemen have been told to keep their gear with them whether at work or at home.
  • The coast guard will be patrolling Lake Michigan and other waterways
  • Those people who are allowed inside the gated-off area are NOT allowed to bring signs or banners.
So, where we currently sit is among those million people waiting outside the gate, looking wistfully at the 'official' rally. We're planning on getting decked out in full Obama-attire - something that seems to be available at every street corner for 10 bucks (stickers, buttons, and the ubiquiotos Barack T-shirt).

Tomorrow is when the real fun begins. For now, we watch and we wait.

Nov 3, 2008

more blogs

Ryan will be posting HERE - watch for his photos

Mitch will be posting HERE - watch for his wit